BIOFOREST Project 2001-2005
Research Teams

The BIOFOREST research team is comprised of the following organisations:

·        Department of Zoology, Ecology and Plant Science (ZEPS), and Environment Research Institute (ERI), University College, Cork (UCC)

·        Department of Botany, Trinity College, Dublin (TCD)

·        Coillte Teoranta, The Irish Forestry Board (Coillte)

This consortium brings together a team of researchers and partner organisations that have extensive experience in ecology, biodiversity assessment and forest biodiversity studies across a broad spectrum of botanical and zoological groups. The UCC group has been involved in large-scale biodiversity studies funded by EU, COFORD and the Heritage Council and has been a partner in a large concerted action related to biodiversity indicators in forests (BEAR). The TCD group are one of the foremost forest plant ecology groups in the country and have wide experience in general botanical surveys, forest and woodland plant biodiversity studies and in production of forest biodiversity guidelines. Coillte Teo, the Irish Forestry Board, is the primary forest owner and manager in Ireland, and the staff on the project have specific expertise in forest ecology. The table below shows each member of the team. Click on the name to find the area of expertise.


Coillte TEAM

Professor P. Giller Dr Daniel L. Kelly Dr Alistair Pfeifer
Professor J. O'Halloran Dr F.J.G. Mitchell Dr Aileen O'Sullivan
Dr Thomas Kelly Dr Paul Dowding Dr Pat Neville
Dr Mark Wilson Dr George Smith
Dr Tom Gittings Dr Susan Iremonger
Anne G. Oxbrough Dr Laura French
  Linda Coote
Project Manager: Dr Susan Iremonger
Consultant Lichenologist:

Dr Howard Fox (Nat. Botanic Gardens)

Inaddition to the core research teams,above, there is input from COFORD and EPA. Additionally, external members of the Steering Group include:


Dr John Cross

  Dr Noel Foley




Dr Jonathan Humphrey

Dr Allan Watt




Dr Jari Niemelä




Dr Tor-Björn Larsson

Staff who worked for some time on the project are:

  • Saoirse O’Donoghue (TCD)
  • Dr Anne-Marie McKee (TCD)
  • Dr Josephine Pithon (UCC)
  • Julianna O’Callaghan
  • Erika Buscardo (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
  • Jacqueline Bolli (ETH, Zurich, Switzerland)